Gazurfs

 

My birth certificate says that I’m 22 years old, but I’m not. I’m only 2 months old or 2 months and a half old. I’m not even sure.

My life began the day life stopped.

It all goes back to August 23rd 2011. That day I took my very last exam at college. I remember that day I went home with a dancing heart and a singing mind. I sang all kinds of songs that my mind could think of at that time. I even sang for Lady Gaga! I was happy that much! After that my father decided to take me with him to Dubai.

January 19th 2012 I traveled for the first time in my life outside Gaza. When I came back, I came back open to all of the opportunities I “thought” I will most certainly have. I sent my CV to a number of companies. I waited for a phone call. I waited for an email. I waited and waited for nothing. I thought to myself why not go to the companies myself? I mean that’s what most of the girls do and that’s what they keep telling me to do. And so I went, got at least 8 job offers on the spot. And I lived happily ever after. End of story.

Actually, that’s the Hollywood version of the story with Ryan Reynolds wearing a suit heading to the sunset at the end of it. The real one goes like this: ALL the companies I went to threw their websites at my face, said check our vacancies there and that was it. True story!

My life began the day I came back from Dubai opening my arms to the new life I thought I’ll experience.

After “my home coming” to Gaza the electricity crisis began which lead the fuel to stand up for the electricity and declare an open strike!! and now we don’t have electricity nor fuel. Only then life just stopped.

Now, all days seem like Fridays in Gaza. There are hardly cars in the streets and all people wear their gloomy faces on all the time. Once you walk the streets and look at people’s faces, you don’t see faces! You see adjectives Sad-gloomy-frowny-moving-breathing-adjectives. This one is disappointed, the other is desperate, and another is profoundly miserable. People are becoming more and more.. Gazurfs!!

   

6 responses to “Gazurfs

Leave a Reply

