Last Friday Day (T.G.I.F)

Gazans are endowed with the most fascinatingly dazzling options when it comes to hanging out on Fridays. Families would be puzzled by the “so many” options they have to choose from. Polls would be held. Eventually they would decide to go to the very same place they chose last Friday, and the Friday before that, and before that. The sea. The poll anyway would consist of three options (The sea, the beach and the sea). 

1.6 million People live in Gaza, only the (.6) would be staying at home -thinking of going to the sea, while the entire million would have already made up their minds and are on their way there, or are already there. The sea would be extremely jammed, you would be lucky to catch a glimpse of the shore because of the so many children, women, men and teenagers who are swimming. On the shore!

Although the atmosphere would be quite disappointing because of the amount of people around you and the fact that you can’t move from one spot to another because simply there is no other spot, yet children would be thrilled.

 Football, volleyball, beach ball and all kinds of (ball activity) would be played. Sand castles would be everywhere and horses would be ridden. The look on the face of those happy children makes you just forget the demonstration-like atmosphere around you.

There is only one place Gazans can go to and have real fun, and that is the sea. Whether it’s Friday, Sunday, Tuesday or any day during the week, sea is always the option.

ps. T.G.I.F stands for: Thank God It’s Friday.


 

3 responses to “Last Friday Day (T.G.I.F)

  • Ghadeer J. Shabana

    wow! fascinatingly dazzling article! but guess what? this year, I didn’t go to the sea nor did I think about going. I didn’t even fel like going! weird. ha? keep up the good work 🙂

  • AHMED AL-QADI

    AMERICANS USUALLY USE T.G.I.F TO EXPRESS THEIR RELIEF. BUT AS FOR ME, IT’S T.G.I.W. WEDNESDAY!! FINALLY! THE LAST DAY OF THE WEEK. IT’S THE DAY I’VE BEEN WAITING SO BAD TO GET A BREAK FROM GOING BACK & FORTH TO IUG ALL THE WAY FROM RAFAH TO GAZA .IT TAKES ME ABOUT AN HOUR COMMUTE TO GET THERE, NOT TO MENTION NOT HAVING A VACANT SEAT ON THE BUS WHICH MEANS I HAVE TO STAND ON MY VERY LEGS!! UNFORTUNATELY, TIME PASSES BY SO FAST THAT I DON’T GTE A CHANCE TO REALLY ENJOY MY TIME. THAT’S WHY WHEN SOMEBODY ASKS ME ABOUT MY WISHES, I TELL HIM: “I WISH I COULD FREEZE TIME:. DO ALL I WANT TILL I’M BORED TO DEATH WITH IT THEN GO BACK TO MY ROUTINE DAILY LIFE.

    I’M SURPRISED TO ACTUALLY SEE SOMEBODY FROM GAZA WRITES IN SUCH A WONDERFUL STYLE AS YOU DO, AMAL. FANTABOULS WORK AMAL.
    I SIGNED THE WRITING 2 CLASS WITH DOCTOR KAMAL MURTAJA & THIS SEMESTER, I AM TAKING ADVANCED WRITING ALSO WITH HIM.
    IT TURNED OUT THAT THE MURTAJAS ARE GREAT AT ENGLISH. IT’S FUNNY THAT AMAL RHYMES WITH KAMAL.
    I DON’T KNOW HOW I STUMBLED ACROSS YOUR BLOG, BUT I’M GLAD I DID.

Leave a Reply

