First Day Of School

Last night I decided to accompany my 7th grade niece (Rana) to her first day of school today. I slept at my uncles place for the occasion, woke up at 05:00am, woke everybody up, prepared myself, combed my nieces hair and then off we went out. As we walked out from the house at 05:45am I was so excited –even more than Rana herself.- I started to imagine how the streets would be and how kids would wave at each other. I even took my camera to take pictures of “the happy day”. I saw jammed streets with boys and girls of all ages, Wearing their uniforms, heading to school with their mother or father, holding their new bags proud, happy and excited.. ok hold on, I didn’t see any of this! This is how I “imagined” things would be like! But in reality I saw the absolute opposite! The streets were embarrassingly empty, the schools were weirdly inhabited and the weather was surprisingly cool. Not quite what I expected for the first day of school, except for the weather part.

Apparently, the rumor which we all believed that the school bill would ring at 06:15am was, well, a rumor! We were a little no not a little we were very early, that as I said the streets were so empty. No taxis, no open shops, no people, no nothing! Just us, wandering alone as a cloud. When the clock hit 06:30am “boys and girls of all ages showed up, wearing their uniforms, heading to school with their mother or father, holding their new bags proud, happy and excited.”  

        

          

      

and kids, always remember.. BIG MAMA IS always WATCHING..

2 responses to “First Day Of School

Leave a Reply

