Superior Vs. Inferior

Superior Vs. Inferior- a poem by Amal and Lina

hey all,

today me and Lina did something … mmm .. “daring” .. after it lina posted on her facebook >>

Lina “Well, we study lots of texts that carry authoritative narrative; Imperialist writers think they can SCRIPT the history by their words for example, what we’re doing now “Kim” by Kipling.”

me .. talking now .. > so .. ever since our Victorian literature course  and Shakespeare course teacher (who is the same teacher) told us that we can do performances and presentations to get marks .. the idea of performing didn’t get out of my head .. so I kept yapping and Nagging on my friends heads to perform something.. so yesterday 2:00 pm I told my friend Lina that I desperately want grades for the Victorian because I’m really screwed at that course and that I wanna perform something ,, or act .. do anything to get the damn marks .. she said “umm, I don’t know.. u .. um .. u know what.. why not rap !” and I was like !!! then she told me the idea of not actually rapping but the style of rapping and then we started writing this.. I took us 2 hours composing .. we only rehearsed this morning at 8:30 and we performed at 9:00  .. the teacher said it was “daring, profound and new not to mention good “ and I got cheers and high fives and praises after it today off the hock 😀 I felt like a super star ..

Lina “A NOTE WE DON’T THINK THAT ALL THE WHITE PEOPLE ARE RACISTS OR SUPREMACISTS, THIS PIECE GOES UNDER THE CONTEXT OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE AND THOSE WHO AGREE WITH IT.”

The poem ..

Lina Starts:
I am made of the colors of the soil
But to you I am just not white
No matter what I do
You’ll never think I have rights
My complexion is a barrier
you created between you and me
But hey,
It is your way to practice you white supremacy

Amal :
I am white
I’m as high as the skies which makes me above u and u’ll always stay down below
No matter what u do I make the rules .. and u MUST abide
Ur the soil, ur the rivers, ur the lands .. which I tread, exploit, occupy .. and u should never defy
I am the mountains, I’m the skies and I’m the air u breathe
I’m trying to make a human out of u and this is how u thank me ?

Lina :
No one is inferior to anyone
And no one is superior to another
We’re all equals
We are humans
Brothers
We’re made of blood and flesh
So how on earth you say
I am an other?

Amal:
True we are all humans BUT not brothers
I’m the superior and ur my Insignificant Other
That is how I define u and represent the story which u can’t utter
I came to ur land
I gave ur life a mg
I put u on the map
I brought u freedom
And I brought u democracy u have never dared to dream of .. so show some gratitude now to ur savior
Any way U can’t prove ur suffer .. I played with u a little game called .. democracy

Lina:

How do you call it democracy when it was brought on tanks and planes?
Amal:

I have the money I have the power .. u took me less than an hour
Lina:

How do you call it democracy when innocent fathers are in jail?
How do you call it democracy when I am dehumanized everyday?!
How do you call it democracy while children are in despair?


Amal :

The world believes ur a terrorist .. I already put u in a frame .. and ur children are NOTHING but collateral damage .. as if the world cares

Lina:

Does freedom mean say what you say?
Does democracy mean death and pain?
I am better off without your aid

Amal:

I OWN U, U R MY SLAVE .. I think for u and u say whatever I say .. and If u rebel .. u’ll follow ur brothers in hell

Lina:

I don’t fear you!
I will defy , I will fig
[I STOLE LOWKEY’S]
Detain my body but can’t imprison my mind
If it’s my time
I’d probably die and my fist in the sky!!!!!

we really enjoyed it .. we rocked the place .. stunned the girls .. shocked the teacher and got a round of applause!

3 responses to “Superior Vs. Inferior

Leave a Reply

